Garden Spot Mat Club, home of Garden Spot Wrestling

Garden Spot Wrestling, Garden Spot Youth Wrestling, Garden Spot Youth Sports

The Reggie Geist Memorial Award

Reggie Geist wrestled 189lbs and heavy weight for Bob Weaver’s Spartan team of the mid 1960’s.  Geist was dedicated to the sport in which he participated in from Junior High through graduation in 1965.

When Reggie died in 1967, after a long illness, his graduating class raised funds to initiate a wrestling award in honor of their classmate.  Since 1968, The Reggie Geist Award is presented each year to an outstanding varsity wrestler selected by the coaches.

In 1973 Reggie’s parents, Richard and Dorothy, assumed sponsorship of the award.  In recent years, his sister Vicki Martin and her family have presented the awards at the annual Spartan Wrestling Awards Banquet.

The graduating class of 1965 describes the award, and the man whose memory is honored with this memorial:

"Reggie Geist has written indelible records of high ideals, sportsmanship, and loyalty in the annals of Garden Spot history.  What does it take to be an athlete and sportsman?  Skills born of courage, patience, dedication, and endurance.  Reggie knew this, but he also possessed the stature to understand that skill must be accompanied by humility in regard for others, attributes a true sportsman.  His classmates established this award in his honor as one that should endure for a greater purpose, the commemorating his life . . . Reggie requires no award to sustain his memory."



1968Harry Heller
1969David Wise
1970Richard Yelk
1971Ray High
1972Craig Youndt
1973Ken High
1974Todd Hillard
1975Bob Homan
1976Ron Sanger
1977Dale Martin
1978Mike Yohn
1979Mike Yohn
1980Owen Hartz
1981Kirk DeVere
1982Cordell Musser
1983Cordell Musser
1984Cordell Musser
1985Scott Witwer
1986Glen Stauffer
1987Jeff Witwer
1988Jeff Witwer
1989Jeff Witwer
1990Mike Groff
1991Alan Houck & Nate Hale
1992Alan Houck
1993Nate Hale
1994Kirby Martin
1995Kirby Martin
1996Nate Hibshman
1997Greg Martin
1998Matt Kretlow
1999Adam Bunting
2000Matt Kretlow
2001Steve Borja
2002Steve Borja
2003Ryan Bunting
2004Brian Abreu
2005Jon Newswanger
2006Darren Hackenburg
2007Darren Hackenburg
2008Aaron Yohn
2009Adam Supplee
2010Kyle Coblentz
Anthony Huber
Nick Cook
Nick Cook
Ben Swarr
Dan Swarr